How a Speeding Ticket Impacts Your Insurance in New Hampshire

New Hampshire’s laws are strict when it comes to speeding. The state has a posted speed limit of 65 miles per hour (mph) on rural interstates, although some sections of road allow up to 70 mph. Keeping roads safe is one of the many reasons why fines and penalties are assessed when a driver gets a speeding ticket in New Hampshire. In addition to fines and other consequences, you can also expect to see an increase in your auto insurance premiums. A speeding ticket increases the average cost of car insurance in New Hampshire by 6%, according to Bankrate’s 2021 study of quoted annual premiums.

How much is a speeding ticket in New Hampshire?

The cost of a speeding ticket in New Hampshire depends on how fast over the speed limit you were going as well as the type of speed zone in which the violation occurred. Fines begin at $62 per violation and increase up to $496. The amount increases in construction zones, too and may be dependent on other circumstances.

New Hampshire also declares that speeding more than 100 mph constitutes reckless driving, regardless of the speed limit. The first offense comes with a potential $500 penalty, and a second offense could result in a $750 penalty. You may have to appear in court and pay court and administrative fees. Your license could also be suspended for up to 60 days with a reckless driving conviction.

How much does a speeding ticket increase your car insurance in New Hampshire?

A driver who receives a speeding ticket in New Hampshire is likely to also face increased auto insurance premiums. Insurance premiums are based on a number of personal factors, including age and gender.

Age Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket % increase
40-year-old male $1,260 $1,367 8%
40-year-old female $1,290 $1,329 3%
Total average $1,275 $1,348 6%

At age 40, women pay slightly more on average than men before a ticket, but men have a far greater average premium increase after a speeding ticket. That could be because, statistically, men are more likely to engage in risky driving behaviors than women.

How to lower your car insurance after a speeding ticket in New Hampshire

A speeding ticket in New Hampshire generally results in increased insurance premiums, but you may still be able to save on auto insurance.

Get quotes from other car insurance companies

Getting quotes from a few New Hampshire car insurance companies might be a smart way to compare coverage types, discounts, policy features and premiums. Changing carriers could save you money, but you may also want to confirm if your current carrier has any cancellation fees. The table below highlights how different rates can be from one company to the next, even with the same parameters.

Car insurance company Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket % increase
MMG $725 $909 25%
Nationwide $851 $927 9%
The Hanover $3,315 $4,306 30%
USAA $681 $856 27%

*Premiums are average annual full coverage premiums for 40-year-olds

Price is a key consideration for many drivers, but you may want to review other components of a company as well. Checking out a provider’s customer service rankings, financial strength ratings, discounts and digital assets could help you make a well-rounded decision.

Look for discounts

Many companies also offer auto insurance discounts. You might find savings for bundling policies, adding multiple vehicles, getting good grades or signing up for paperless statements. It might be a good idea to review your current policy and see if you qualify for any other discounts you weren’t eligible for earlier, such as a loyalty discount.

Increase your deductibles

If you currently have comprehensive coverage and collision coverage on your policy, you likely have a deductible associated with each one. Increasing your deductible means you’ll pay more if you file a claim for damage but higher deductibles generally mean you’ll pay less in premium. Just make sure you can afford your deductible before you make the change.

Other speeding ticket considerations

In addition to penalties and fines, another consequence of a speeding ticket in New Hampshire is an assessment of points. New Hampshire assigns points for each traffic violation, and speeding is worth either three or four points. If you get enough points on your license, you could face a suspension.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best car insurance company for drivers with speeding tickets?

Drivers with speeding tickets can still find the best insurance company that fits their driving needs. One of the most effective strategies for doing this is to compare several insurance companies. Not only will you see the rates they charge, but you’ll have a chance to review the coverage options, discounts and policy management tools that you might need or want.

How long does a New Hampshire speeding ticket stay on my record?

You might see your speeding ticket on your driving record for the rest of your life, but it likely won’t affect your premiums after a certain period of time. Although regulations vary by company, most insurance providers charge for tickets for three to five years. After that point, you might see your rates go back down if you’ve been able to keep a clean driving record.

How much car insurance do I need after a ticket?

The amount of coverage you purchase will depend on your specific needs and wants. Talking with a licensed insurance agent might help you decide what types and levels of coverage are right for you. An agent should be able to understand your situation and make coverage recommendations.


Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:

  • $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $50,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
  • $500 collision deductible
  • $500 comprehensive deductible

To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.

These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.

Incidents: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.