New members join IRS ETAAC

Seven new members have joined the Internal Revenue Service’s Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee.

The committee is a public forum for the discussion of issues in electronic tax administration with a primary goal is to promote paperless filing of tax and information returns. ETAAC members also work with the Security Summit, a joint effort of the IRS, state tax administrators and the nation’s tax industry to fight ID theft and refund fraud.

Committee members include state tax officials, consumer advocates, cybersecurity and information security specialists, tax preparers, tax software developers and representatives of the payroll and financial communities.

The following have been appointed to three-year terms on the committee beginning in September 2021:

  • Jihan Jude, of Orlando, Florida, is an attorney and counselor at law with the Davey Law Group. She previously worked with ComplyRight, where she focused on business employment tax compliance, information return reporting requirements from the IRS and Social Security Administration and labor law legal issues.
  • James Paille, of Ann Arbor, Michigan, works for Thomson Reuters and has more than 40 years of experience in the payroll industry, including front line, treasury and management experience.
  • Peter Barca, of Kenosha, Wisconsin, is secretary of the Wisconsin Department of Revenue and an active member and officer of the Federation of Tax Administrators Board of Trustees.
  • Vernon Barnett, of Pike Road, Alabama, began his service as commissioner of the Alabama Department of Revenue in May 2017. He has worked in state government for 25 years and served as a member of the Federation of Tax Administrators board of trustees.
  • Mark Godfrey, of Jefferson City, Missouri, served, prior to joining Ernst & Young’s digital tax administration – government services practice, as Taxation Division director at the Missouri Department of Revenue.
  • Jonathan Lunardini, of Loomis, California, is section manager of the California Franchise Tax Board’s Identity Theft/Fraud Program. He has been a member of the Security Summit since its inception in 2015 and has participated in its Information Sharing, Authentication and Financial Services working groups.
  • Terri Steenblock, of Forest Lake, Minnesota, is compliance director at the Federation of Tax Administrators, supporting state revenue agencies across the U.S.